St Margaret Lothbury is located in the City of London and was first mention in 1185. The church is dedicated to Margret of Antioch.
The original church was rebuilt in 1440 at the expense of Robert Large, the Lord Mayor, but was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666.
Margaret Lothbury was rebuilt after the Great Fire by Sir Christopher Wren in 1692. The fabulous tower was built by Robert Hooke and completed in 1700. It is an excellent example of 17th century architecture, including some amazing woodwork. These includes the communion rail, baptism font and reredos, which are exceptionally fine and said to have been completed by Grinling Gibbons.
The building has received items from other demolished Wren works, such as the reredos brought from St Olave Jewry, the choir screen from All Hallows the Great and the colourful paintings of Moses and Aaron on either side of the high altar are from St Christopher le Stocks. St Margaret’s also possesses several items of plate from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries providing a link to all of the churches of its component parishes.
The church survived the Blitz and stands as a well-preserved Wren church. The church today is the church of five livery companies (the Armourers and Brasiers, the Glovers of London, the Tylers and Bricklayers, the Tin Plate Workers alias Wire Workers and the Scientific Instrument Makers) two Ward Clubs (Broad St. and Coleman St.) and one professional institution (the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales). It is also the parish church of the Bank of England and several local firms.
Keep up to date with the latest news ...